What Will You Become?
Iowa Western Community College

Drinking Driver Education Program

Convicted of OWI? Iowa law requires that you must complete a 12-hour Drinking Driver Education Program and complete a substance abuse evaluation. If you are evaluated as needing treatment, you must complete treatment before you can get your license back. Offenders of Iowa's OWI Law Brochure

Cost $180

Prepayment is required. Payment due immediately upon registering.

Classes

IWCC Council Bluffs: Looft Hall  

May 17, 22, 24
Thursday, Tuesday, Thursday from 6:30-10:30 pm
Register Online

June 1, 2
Friday from 6-10 pm and Saturday from 8-5 pm
Register Online

June 21, 26, 28
Thursday, Tuesday, Thursday from 6:30-10:30 pm
Register Online

Aug 2, 7, 9
Thursday, Tuesday, Thursday from 6:30-10:30 pm
Register Online

IWCC Clarinda: 923 Washington, Optiz Hall

Sep 28 & 29
Friday from 6-10 pm and Saturday from 8-5 pm
Register Online

Nov 30 & Dec 1
Friday from 6-10 pm and Saturday from 8-5 pm
Register Online

IWCC Atlantic: 705 Walnut Street

Oct 12 & 13
Friday from 6-10 pm and Saturday from 8-5 pm
Register Online

Live close to Red Oak? 

Classes are scheduled at Southwestern Community College (SWCC), Center Room 107, 2300 N 4th St, Red Oak, IA. Call SWCC at 712.623.2541 or visit SWCC website for dates and to register.

About Driving Unimpaired (DUI) Class

This class is intended to reduce the occurrence of driving while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs and to encourage understanding and acceptance of the need to change this behavior in persons of legal age (18 or older) who have been arrested for OWI. Classes are available at IWCC in Council Bluffs, Atlantic and Clarinda.

If you are under 18 years of age, please contact the Iowa Department of Public Health (515) 281-4417 for direction on how to proceed.

Attendance

Students must start the class on the date assigned. Students must attend all 12 hours and may not be late. Students arriving after the designated class start time will be denied entry into the class. 

Sobriety

Do not consume any alcohol on class days. If you do, it will result in dismissal from the class and you will have to re-enroll and pay the class fee again.

Successful Completion of the Course

  • No tardiness.
  • Attend all 12 hours.
  • Complete all in-class activities and participate in class discussion.

Upon Completion of the Course

You will receive a certificate for your records. We will transmit your completion to the DOT in Des Moines electronically. We usually do this the first workday after the class. Results from Clarinda and Atlantic typically take several days longer. DOT records are updated immediately. A $10 fee will be charged for replacement certificates.